Saturday, March 14, 2015

Luminaries of IISc Bengaluru

A set of two stamps released to commemorate 100 years of Indian Institute of Sciences in December 2008 was a fitting tribute to the leading institute of science research in India. The se-tenant was aesthetically designed and captured the essence of its existence over the past century. 

Design of the first stamp is quite intriguing with so many personalities on one stamp. I was unable to recognize a few faces at first, but an interesting article written by the then director of IISc, P. Balaram sheds light on these pioneers (Burjoji Padshah: Realizing a Vision, Current Science, Vol. 95, No. 12, 25 December 2008, 151-152). The numbered image below followed by the list should help the readers.

1. Homi Bhabha - Nuclear Physicist
2. Burjoji Padshah - Jamsetji Tata's associate; Tata family acquaintance
3. Morris Travers - First Director of IISc, Bengaluru
4. G. N. Ramachandran - Physicist
5. Satish Dhawan - Aerospace Engineer; ISRO Chairman (1972-1984)
6. C. V. Raman - Physicist and Nobel Laureate
7. Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata - Industrialist and Philanthropist
8. Krishna Raja Wadiyar IV (Maharaja of Mysuru) - Land Donor 
9. Swami Vivekananda - Social reformer; inspired J. N. Tata


  1. This is great. Such information should be part of the stamp's information brochure.